DOM Corrupted?

Hardware questions and modifications

Re: DOM Corrupted?

Postby jharre » Sat Feb 13, 2016 9:56 pm

I'd try a different DOM. If you don't have a spare, I have a PQI 128 Meg module I could lend you.

<*> Jim
jharre
 
Posts: 61
Joined: Tue Jun 18, 2013 9:48 pm
Location: Placitas, New Mexico

Re: DOM Corrupted?

Postby Tempest » Sun Feb 14, 2016 7:36 am

I can grab a cheap one from eBay if need be, but I'm thinking it can't be the dom because the data isn't scrambling itself. If it was the Dom the data would be corrupted. The data is actually ok when the jrIDE is working.
Omne ignotum pro magnifico

--- AtariProtos.com ---
The color of infinity inside an empty glass
Tempest
 
Posts: 305
Joined: Thu Jan 14, 2010 5:43 pm

Re: DOM Corrupted?

Postby Tempest » Mon Mar 21, 2016 6:12 pm

Well I'm *almost* back in business. Alan looked at my jrIDE and determined that my DOM was fried and sent me a nice new 2MB one. The problem is that I can't boot from it, when I try the jrIDE hangs. I can boot from a boot disk and read/write/delete/format from the DOM all day long, but I can't actually boot from it. Any idea what could be wrong? The only thing I can think of is that I didn't format the drive with the /s flag, but IIRC that just copies some system files which I should already have on there (config.sys and command.com) so I can't believe that's the issue.
Omne ignotum pro magnifico

--- AtariProtos.com ---
The color of infinity inside an empty glass
Tempest
 
Posts: 305
Joined: Thu Jan 14, 2010 5:43 pm

Re: DOM Corrupted?

Postby MikeModified » Mon Mar 21, 2016 6:26 pm

Did you patch DOS for the jr?

Mike
MikeModified
 
Posts: 118
Joined: Sat Mar 15, 2014 5:10 pm
Location: Portland, OR

Re: DOM Corrupted?

Postby Tempest » Mon Mar 21, 2016 6:36 pm

The files I was given came pre-patched I believe
Omne ignotum pro magnifico

--- AtariProtos.com ---
The color of infinity inside an empty glass
Tempest
 
Posts: 305
Joined: Thu Jan 14, 2010 5:43 pm

Re: DOM Corrupted?

Postby Tempest » Mon Mar 21, 2016 6:54 pm

I double checked, the c drive is patched and I have stacks 0,0 in my config.sys. The weird thing is that the jrIDE freezes at the boot menu, it doesn't even appear to check the Dom (no light flash on the jrIDE).
Omne ignotum pro magnifico

--- AtariProtos.com ---
The color of infinity inside an empty glass
Tempest
 
Posts: 305
Joined: Thu Jan 14, 2010 5:43 pm

Re: DOM Corrupted?

Postby Brutman » Mon Mar 21, 2016 7:37 pm

When you created the DOS partition, did you mark it ACTIVE? Use fdisk to verify this. All versions of DOS need this.

Have you tried using fdisk with the /MBR option? That will copy the boot sector code to the boot sector in case your current boot sector code is corrupted. (You may need to patch again after doing this.)

How exactly did you prepare the DOM? What steps did you go through?
Brutman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 911
Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2008 5:03 pm

Re: DOM Corrupted?

Postby Tempest » Mon Mar 21, 2016 8:19 pm

Yes the partition is set to active.

I booted with my dos 5 boot disk, used the fdisk program to make a primary active dos partition, formatted it (I didn't use /s like I said), created a dos directory, then copied over all the files (I was given a disk with them already expanded).

How do I use the mbr option? Is it just FDISK /MBR got the command prompt?
Omne ignotum pro magnifico

--- AtariProtos.com ---
The color of infinity inside an empty glass
Tempest
 
Posts: 305
Joined: Thu Jan 14, 2010 5:43 pm

Re: DOM Corrupted?

Postby Brutman » Mon Mar 21, 2016 8:27 pm

Did you patch the boot sector on the DOM? I noticed that was missing in your steps.
Brutman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 911
Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2008 5:03 pm

Re: DOM Corrupted?

Postby Tempest » Mon Mar 21, 2016 8:31 pm

Yes I did.
Omne ignotum pro magnifico

--- AtariProtos.com ---
The color of infinity inside an empty glass
Tempest
 
Posts: 305
Joined: Thu Jan 14, 2010 5:43 pm

PreviousNext

Return to PCjr Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron