King's Quest II Booters on PCjr

Software related questions

King's Quest II Booters on PCjr

Postby redmagehat » Thu Apr 05, 2018 2:23 pm

I have some interest in getting the old 1.0w and 1.1h booter versions of King's Quest II working on my PCjr, but all the .IMG files I've tried don't seem to work. Version 1.0w cycles endlessly during initial loading, and 1.1h throws up a memory error saying 128k of memory is required to run the game, and locks up.

Any hints or speculation? My jr only has 1 modified memory sidecar bringing it to 640k, no other additions. Could the sidecar be causing the issue? The Black Cauldron booters work fine.
redmagehat
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Sun Sep 30, 2012 6:53 am

Re: King's Quest II Booters on PCjr

Postby GHiero » Mon Apr 09, 2018 3:20 pm

KQ2 booter versions do work, I have original v1.1h disks and they work OK. Try removing the memory sidecar and reseat the internal memory expansion.
GHiero
 
Posts: 131
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2013 7:53 pm

Re: King's Quest II Booters on PCjr

Postby redmagehat » Mon Apr 09, 2018 3:41 pm

Thx, I'll try that tonight. I'm hoping it doesn't have something to do with the TDC 1.1h .IMG files being cracked versions, and somehow not playing nice with actual PCjr hardware. I'll post an update.
redmagehat
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Sun Sep 30, 2012 6:53 am

Re: King's Quest II Booters on PCjr

Postby redmagehat » Tue Apr 10, 2018 11:31 am

Verdict: no-go. I removed the memory sidecar, checked the 64k upgrade card, and I'm still getting the same result. The 1.1h images work great in DOSBox, but not on my PCjr hardware.

There's an actual set of KQ2 booter disks up on eBay right now that I'm going to try to nab if they don't get too expensive ... it will be interesting to see if those work.
redmagehat
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Sun Sep 30, 2012 6:53 am

Re: King's Quest II Booters on PCjr

Postby redmagehat » Sun Apr 15, 2018 8:33 am

Follow-up: I managed to snag the PC/PCjr booter version off of eBay on Friday. Going to send it to Hargle once I've confirmed it's a working copy so we can get an unspoiled set of images for the disks.
redmagehat
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Sun Sep 30, 2012 6:53 am

Re: King's Quest II Booters on PCjr

Postby fsmith2003 » Thu Oct 11, 2018 6:21 pm

Any updates on the image files?
fsmith2003
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2018 11:49 am

Re: King's Quest II Booters on PCjr

Postby fsmith2003 » Sat Oct 13, 2018 8:58 am

I am also having the issue where when trying to boot up a King's Quest II image file using a Gotek Floppy Emulator with a standard 128kb PcJr with no special add-ons or hardware hacks. It just says 128kb is required (even though that's what I have) then the system freezes at a black screen.
fsmith2003
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2018 11:49 am

Re: King's Quest II Booters on PCjr

Postby redmagehat » Sat Oct 13, 2018 4:48 pm

I mailed a copy of the original disks to Hargle and confirmed they were working. Not sure if he's pulled fresh images off of those disks yet, but yeah, the ones that had been circulating from Retrograde Station (which you have) are definitely not "real PCjr" friendly.
redmagehat
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Sun Sep 30, 2012 6:53 am

Re: King's Quest II Booters on PCjr

Postby fsmith2003 » Sat Oct 13, 2018 9:15 pm

Great! Thanks for the update. Would be interested to see if the new ones will work.
fsmith2003
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2018 11:49 am

Re: King's Quest II Booters on PCjr

Postby Chuckphd53 » Sun Oct 14, 2018 8:37 am

Not sure if it related, but I had issues using the JRCONFIG /S option and some games, I had to take it out and have NO mem associated to ramdisks...
(PCJR/JR-IDE-512DOM,TandyMod,V20-10Chip,BiDir,LPT2,3FlopBrd,
USBEmulator,ZIP100,PS2Keybrd,MouseSysMouse,InternalSwitcherPS)
Chuckphd53
 
Posts: 273
Joined: Sun May 13, 2018 9:15 am
Location: Florida, USA

Next

Return to PCjr Software

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron