Flight Simulator

Software related questions

Flight Simulator

Postby Chuckphd53 » Tue Oct 02, 2018 8:00 am

FS 2.0

I have the original disk, and while is seems to load and ask all the question on the startup.
when it get to the question :
Do you want to use MSBooster RAM for enhanced performance ? Y / N
the system just gets STUCK.... ( yes time to hit the power switch )

Now, I do have the JR-IDE installed for the full 640K recognized ram
and also have the Tandy Mod...
ALso have Mouse6.24 Driver installed with ANSI.sys....

JRCONFIG is set to /v32 as expected...

I've tried all combinations of 'startup' selections but it always gets to the MSBooster Question and dies...
I've even tried selecting both JR and AT style keyboards when asked..

anyone else have FS working on the JR...…
if so what does your start up config look like...
(PCJR/JR-IDE-512DOM,TandyMod,V20-10Chip,BiDir,LPT2,3FlopBrd,
USBEmulator,ZIP100,PS2Keybrd,MouseSysMouse,InternalSwitcherPS)
Chuckphd53
 
Posts: 273
Joined: Sun May 13, 2018 9:15 am
Location: Florida, USA

Re: Flight Simulator

Postby Brutman » Tue Oct 02, 2018 9:20 am

The directions for flight sim are pretty specific. If you want to use a mouse boot DOS, run the Microsoft "MOUSE.COM" program (presumably an ancient version), and then run "FS" from the flight simulator disk.

You should have no other device drivers, including jrConfig. And given the age of the program, you are probably required to use the Microsoft mouse and the original mouse driver back from 1984 ...
Brutman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1078
Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2008 5:03 pm

Re: Flight Simulator

Postby Chuckphd53 » Tue Oct 02, 2018 9:48 am

that makes sense, I was perplexed by the fact that it loaded the front 'screen' ie.cockpit
but that is as far as it gets when it asks for exteneded memory..
I'll try with out JRCONFIG... maybe even boot with DOS 2.0 (grin)
(PCJR/JR-IDE-512DOM,TandyMod,V20-10Chip,BiDir,LPT2,3FlopBrd,
USBEmulator,ZIP100,PS2Keybrd,MouseSysMouse,InternalSwitcherPS)
Chuckphd53
 
Posts: 273
Joined: Sun May 13, 2018 9:15 am
Location: Florida, USA

Re: Flight Simulator

Postby Trixter » Tue Oct 02, 2018 7:52 pm

If you're starting it from DOS, you're running the wrong version. That's a cracked version converted to DOS and it won't work on a PCjr. You must use the bootable disk image version, which is original.
You're all insane and trying to steal my magic bag!
Trixter
 
Posts: 605
Joined: Mon Sep 01, 2008 12:00 am
Location: Illinois, USA

Re: Flight Simulator

Postby Brutman » Tue Oct 02, 2018 8:07 pm

Not quite accurate.

The original manual tells you to use DOS first to load the mouse driver, then to put the booter disk in to start FS. It is not a cracked version; the booter has a DOS readable FAT exactly for the purpose of loading a mouse driver first.
Brutman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1078
Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2008 5:03 pm

Re: Flight Simulator

Postby Trixter » Tue Oct 02, 2018 8:16 pm

I stand corrected. I've never actually read the manual (although I've had it for a while).

That said, I *know* it works if you self-boot, and it also uses memory sidecars correctly if you answer "yes", so my recommendation still stands. You don't need the mouse to fly anyway; it's much cooler with analog non-centering joysticks.
You're all insane and trying to steal my magic bag!
Trixter
 
Posts: 605
Joined: Mon Sep 01, 2008 12:00 am
Location: Illinois, USA

Re: Flight Simulator

Postby Brutman » Tue Oct 02, 2018 8:33 pm

You don't use the mouse to replace the flight controls. You use the mouse to adjust the instruments, raise the gear, turn on the carb heat, etc. It's so much easier than trying to remember all of the key combinations.

To each his own .. when I have a MS Booster attached I use both the extra RAM, the mouse, and two joysticks.
Brutman
Site Admin
 
Posts: 1078
Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2008 5:03 pm

Re: Flight Simulator

Postby Chuckphd53 » Wed Oct 03, 2018 3:52 am

Grabbed an old Dos 2.0 and loaded it up, wow fast even from drive A:

then put the FS disk in and all seemed to work fine, this was even with the JR-Ide extra memory but not used...no JRconfig or other mem handler...

it was great toplay with again.... after figuring out thr throttles, flaps and landing gear (keybrd only) was able to crashinto the buildings and
even 'land' correctly now and then...

we sure have come along way, but I am glad we can still look back and remember when these first hit the market....'we were ammazed'!
(PCJR/JR-IDE-512DOM,TandyMod,V20-10Chip,BiDir,LPT2,3FlopBrd,
USBEmulator,ZIP100,PS2Keybrd,MouseSysMouse,InternalSwitcherPS)
Chuckphd53
 
Posts: 273
Joined: Sun May 13, 2018 9:15 am
Location: Florida, USA

Re: Flight Simulator

Postby Trixter » Wed Oct 03, 2018 9:32 pm

Brutman wrote:To each his own .. when I have a MS Booster attached I use both the extra RAM, the mouse, and two joysticks.


I agree that is the best configuration, but not all of us were lucky enough to have an MS Booster ;-)
You're all insane and trying to steal my magic bag!
Trixter
 
Posts: 605
Joined: Mon Sep 01, 2008 12:00 am
Location: Illinois, USA

Re: Flight Simulator

Postby Chuckphd53 » Thu Oct 04, 2018 3:49 am

I did have the MSBooster and still d0, but no mouse, it would be nice ti find the original, just to have with it as a set..
(PCJR/JR-IDE-512DOM,TandyMod,V20-10Chip,BiDir,LPT2,3FlopBrd,
USBEmulator,ZIP100,PS2Keybrd,MouseSysMouse,InternalSwitcherPS)
Chuckphd53
 
Posts: 273
Joined: Sun May 13, 2018 9:15 am
Location: Florida, USA

Next

Return to PCjr Software

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest