Conditionally Loading .sys Files?

Software related questions

Conditionally Loading .sys Files?

Postby Tempest » Sun Apr 02, 2017 3:28 pm

Is it possible through the use of autoexec.bat to conditionally load .sys files? I have a backpack (3.5" floppy) driver that I only need when I want to transfer things to my PCjr, otherwise it's taking up 13.5k of precious memory. Is it possible to put a statement in my autoexec to ask if I want to load the driver with a y/n prompt?
Omne ignotum pro magnifico

--- AtariProtos.com ---
The color of infinity inside an empty glass
Tempest
 
Posts: 308
Joined: Thu Jan 14, 2010 5:43 pm

Re: Conditionally Loading .sys Files?

Postby Trixter » Sun Apr 02, 2017 4:14 pm

This was just discussed on the VCFED forums; I believe the product you're looking for (that works with any version of DOS) is BOOT.SYS. Look for "boot210.zip" online.

Code: Select all
BOOT.SYS v2.10 <ASP> - The Heavy-Duty Config
Manager. Gives you one or more menus out of
CONFIG.SYS, similar to DOS6. Adds pretty
menu, if/then/else, use of variables, and on-
the-fly editing in CONFIG.SYS; reboot from
cmd line; passwords; installation program
upgrades DOS6 multi-config; more! Does NOT
write to your disk! 20 items per menu/25
menus. DOS 2.11 to 6.3 (DR/NWDOS7, too),
DOS=, QEMM7. Auth: Hans Salvisberg
You're all insane and trying to steal my magic bag!
Trixter
 
Posts: 523
Joined: Mon Sep 01, 2008 12:00 am
Location: Illinois, USA

Re: Conditionally Loading .sys Files?

Postby Trixter » Sun Apr 02, 2017 4:15 pm

Keep in mind that jrconfig.sys boots twice as it runs (it adjusts memory, then warm-reboots so the new memory can be seen), so any branching fun you will do with boot.sys should likely be after jrconfig.
You're all insane and trying to steal my magic bag!
Trixter
 
Posts: 523
Joined: Mon Sep 01, 2008 12:00 am
Location: Illinois, USA

Re: Conditionally Loading .sys Files?

Postby Tempest » Sun Apr 02, 2017 4:43 pm

Interesting, I'll have to look into that.

How much memory is generally needed for PCjr games? I know back in the 486/Pentium era you needed 615K+ free but I doubt the memory requirements are that high for XT era software
Omne ignotum pro magnifico

--- AtariProtos.com ---
The color of infinity inside an empty glass
Tempest
 
Posts: 308
Joined: Thu Jan 14, 2010 5:43 pm

Re: Conditionally Loading .sys Files?

Postby Trixter » Sun Apr 02, 2017 6:42 pm

All games that can run on the PCjr will run in CGA if you have a 640K system, or in PCjr/Tandy mode if you have a 736K system like with the jrIDE. You don't need to worry that much about free RAM unless you've got 100K in TSRs loaded or something. What I'm trying to say is that it won't come up in actual usage.
You're all insane and trying to steal my magic bag!
Trixter
 
Posts: 523
Joined: Mon Sep 01, 2008 12:00 am
Location: Illinois, USA

Re: Conditionally Loading .sys Files?

Postby Tempest » Sun Apr 02, 2017 7:29 pm

I guess I don't need to worry about the backpack driver then. I think I have about 578k or so free so I guess it should be ok.

One question though, is the reported free ram the total free ram or just the 'fast ram' not including the built in 128k? Because I'm curious as to what's eating up all that memory.
Omne ignotum pro magnifico

--- AtariProtos.com ---
The color of infinity inside an empty glass
Tempest
 
Posts: 308
Joined: Thu Jan 14, 2010 5:43 pm

Re: Conditionally Loading .sys Files?

Postby Trixter » Sun Apr 02, 2017 8:58 pm

It's the total. If you want to see what is taking up memory, run CHECKIT, INFOPLUS, or (dos 5 or later) mem /c to see what loaded.

578K free is *quite good* for a 640k system (or a 768k system running jrconfig) so you really don't have to obsess over this.
You're all insane and trying to steal my magic bag!
Trixter
 
Posts: 523
Joined: Mon Sep 01, 2008 12:00 am
Location: Illinois, USA


Return to PCjr Software

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests

cron